Call for Abstracts

Interested participants are invited to submit abstracts on topics related to hereditary breast and ovarian cancer.

Submissions are welcome from all disciplines. Specific topic categories are listed below. Abstracts may be in English or French and must not exceed 300 words.

Abstracts may be submitted for Oral or Poster presentation.

All abstracts received by the submission deadline will be reviewed. Should a submission for oral presentation not be accepted as an oral, it will then automatically be considered for poster presentation.

Oral: An oral presentation describing a project or activity that falls within one of the topics listed below. Proffered paper oral presentations are limited to 10 minutes and presenters will participate with the invited faculty in a Question & Answer period at the end of the Session.

Poster: A visual presentation describing a project or activity. Posters must be designed to fit the predetermined guidelines. As much as possible, authors are expected to be present with their poster during breaks to answer questions from participants. No audiovisual support is provided for poster presentations.



  Deadline for Oral Abstract Submission:

  December 8, 2017

  Deadline for Poster Abstract Submission:

  January 19, 2018




Publication of Abstracts

All accepted abstracts will be published in the Symposium Book of Abstracts. In addition, most of the abstracts will be published in Current Oncology in online only format. Current Oncology is the only peer-reviewed journal covering Canadian oncologic practice.


Encore Abstracts

The Symposium will accept "Encore" abstracts. However, these will not be published in Current Oncology.


"Trials in Progress" Abstracts

The Symposium will accept "Trials in progress" abstracts. However, if submitting for an Oral presentation, there must be data.


How to Submit an Abstract:

Please click on the link supplied below for the Online Abstract Submission Form. You will need to sign up to our submission system by supplying your email address and a password. There is no paper version of this form. Abstracts not prepared correctly will NOT be considered.

Abstract categories include:

  • Biology of hereditary cancers
  • BRCA1/2 mutations, variants of unknown clinical significance and databases
  • Clinical issues for management
  • Education
  • Ethics and legal issues
  • Genome-wide approaches to identify new genetic risk factors
  • Molecular pathology and genetic analyses of BRCA1/2-associated cancers
  • Non-BRCA1/2 genetic factors associated with cancer risk
  • Psycho-oncology
  • Risk assessment and genetic counselling issues

Appel de communications (résumés)

Nous invitons les participants et participantes intéressés à soumettre des communications (résumés) sur des sujets relatifs au cancer héréditaire du sein et de l’ovaire.

Les soumissions peuvent se faire dans toutes les disciplines. La liste des catégories de sujets se trouve ci-dessous. Les résumés, qui ne doivent pas dépasser 300 mots, peuvent être rédigés en français ou en anglais.

Les résumés soumis peuvent concerner des présentations orales ou des affiches.

Tous les résumés reçus d’ici la date limite seront évalués. Les résumés soumis mais non retenus pour présentation orale seront automatiquement étudiés par le Comité d'évaluation pour présentation par affiche. Nous vous prions de ne pas soumettre votre résumé de nouveau.

Présentation orale : présentation décrivant une activité ou un projet entrant dans l’un des sujets énumérés ci-dessous. La durée d’une présentation orale ne doit pas dépasser 10 minutes. Les présentateurs de résumés prendront part, avec les conférenciers invités, à la période de questions et aux discussions prévues après chaque séance.

Présentation par affiche : présentation visuelle décrivant une activité ou un projet. Les affiches doivent respecter les critères prédéterminés. Autant que possible, on attend des auteurs qu'ils ou elles soient présents près de leur affiche pendant les pauses afin de répondre aux questions éventuelles des participants. Aucun équipement audiovisuel n'est fourni pour les présentations par affiches.



  Date limite pour la soumission de résumés pour présentation orale :

  8 décembre 2017

  Date limite pour la soumission de résumés pour présentation par affiche

  19 janvier 2018



Publication des résumés

Tous les résumés acceptés seront publiés dans le Recueil des résumés du Symposium. En outre, la plupart des résumés seront publiés (uniquement en ligne) dans Current Oncology, la seule publication avec comité de lecture couvrant la pratique en oncologie au Canada.


Résumés déjà diffusés

Il est possible de soumettre au Symposium des résumés déjà présentés et/ou publiés. Ils ne seront cependant pas publiés dans Current Oncology.


Résumés d’essais en cours

Le Symposium accepte la présentation de résumés d’essais en cours. Toutefois, dans le cas d’exposés oraux, des données doivent les accompagner.


Comment soumettre un résumé :

Veuillez cliquer sur le lien figurant ci-dessous vers le Formulaire de soumission de résumé en ligne. Vous devrez vous inscrire dans notre système de soumission à l’aide d’une adresse de courriel et d’un mot de passe. Il n’existe pas de version imprimée de ce formulaire. Les résumés ne répondant pas aux critères énoncés NE seront PAS évalués.

Catégories de sujet:

  • Biologie des cancers héréditaires
  • Mutations des gènes BRCA1 ou 2, variants de signification clinique inconnue et bases de données
  • Questions cliniques en matière de surveillance et de traitement du cancer
  • Sensibilisation et formation
  • Questions éthico-juridiques
  • Approches pangénomiques pour dépister de nouveaux facteurs génétiques de risque
  • Pathologie moléculaire et analyses génétiques des cancers associés aux gènes BRCA1/2
  • Facteurs génétiques non liés aux BRCA1/2 associés aux risques de cancer
  • Psycho-oncologie
  • Questions touchant l’évaluation du risque et la consultation génétique